Understanding and Using the Noticeboard

Follow

Overview

The Noticeboard is an area within an Entity record where users can highlight important information about an individual, household or organization. Noticeboard posts can be added to a record to alert the Client Service team to life events such as a divorce or the loss of a loved one. Noticeboard posts can also be added to a User record to alert the team when a co-worker is out of the office. The Noticeboard is available on the following record types in Practifi:

  • Individual
  • Household
  • Organization
  • Division
  • Financial Product
  • User

Noticeboard posts can be automatically archived on a pre-determined date or archived manually when no longer needed. Archived posts can be accessed at any time from the Noticeboard Posts tab. This article covers the basics of creating and managing Noticeboard posts.

 

Noticeboard Post Types

There are three types of Noticeboard posts, as shown here:

Screen_Shot_2021-11-09_at_9.26.45_AM.png

  1. Critical posts are highlighted in orange and appear both in the Noticeboard area and at the top of the screen as a toast notification. Critical post notifications remain at the top of the record page every time it is opened until a user dismisses it. These notifications also appear at the top of the screen when viewing records related to the entity, such as assets, tasks or emails. 
  2. Important posts are highlighted in gray.
  3. Standard posts are not highlighted. Standard is the default selection in the Alert Level field.

Create a Noticeboard Post

To create a Noticeboard post, do the following:

  1. Open an Entity record and navigate to the Overview tab.
  2. From the Noticeboard area, click the New Post icon. The New Post window opens.

    Screen_Shot_2021-11-08_at_9.19.04_AM.png
  3. From the Alert Level drop-down, select Standard, Important or Critical.
  4. Optionally, click the calendar icon in the Archive Date field and specify a date for the post to be automatically archived.
  5. Add the content of the post in the text editor area. You can add formatting using the toolbar.
  6. When finished, click Save. The post is added to the Noticeboard area of the Overview tab.

    Screen_Shot_2021-11-08_at_9.23.54_AM.png

Edit a Noticeboard Post

To edit a Noticeboard post, do the following:

  1. From the Noticeboard area, click the caret on the post you want to edit, then select Edit. The post opens in a new window.

    Screen_Shot_2021-11-08_at_9.26.09_AM.png
  2. Make the desired changes, then click Save. A success message appears, and the post is updated.

Share a Noticeboard Post Across Entities

There are times when you might want a post to be shared across multiple records, such as when a colleague on the servicing team will be out of the office for an extended period. When posting to the Noticeboard on a Division, Financial Product or User record, you can enable the Post to related Entities? toggle switch. This will create a post on all Entity records related to the chosen division, financial product or user.

Screenshot  

Noticeboard posts shared across Entity records are identical to other Noticeboard posts, except instead of the usual drop-down menu, a Share icon is displayed at the bottom. Hovering over this icon shows a description of where the post originated.

Screenshot 2023-10-05 at 3.45.11 PM.png

Please note: Noticeboard posts shared from the Division, User and Financial Product records cannot be edited or archived from the Entity records they're shared to. These changes must be made on the record where the post was originally made.

Noticeboard sharing logic works as follows:

For this record type... Posts are shared with...
Division

Entities that have the Division as their Related Division.

User Entities where the User is the Owner.
Financial Product Entities with one or more Assets where the Financial Product or Parent Financial Product is the same Financial Product.

 

Archive a Noticeboard Post

A Noticeboard post can be archived, which removes it from display in the Noticeboard area but keeps it saved within Practifi. To archive a Noticeboard post, click the caret on the post you want to archive, then select Archive. A success message appears, and the post is removed from the Noticeboard area.

Screen_Shot_2021-11-08_at_9.30.22_AM.png

 

View Archived Noticeboard Posts

To view all archived Noticeboard posts for a client, do the following:

  1. Click the View All icon in the Noticeboard area. The Noticeboard Posts tab opens.

    Screen_Shot_2021-11-08_at_9.48.23_AM.png
  2. From the Noticeboard Posts record table, click the name of a post to open a detailed view, or click the caret to edit or delete the post.

    Screen_Shot_2021-11-08_at_9.53.32_AM.png

Unarchive a Noticeboard Post

If a post has been archived in error, it can be removed from the archive and re-posted to the record page. To unarchive a post, do the following:

  1. Click the View All icon in the Noticeboard area. The Noticeboard Posts tab opens.

    Screen_Shot_2021-11-08_at_9.48.23_AM.png
  2. From the Noticeboard Posts record table, click the name of the post you want to unarchive. It opens in a new tab.
  3. At the top of the screen, click the Unarchive button.

    Screen_Shot_2021-11-09_at_10.45.08_AM.png

Delete a Noticeboard Post

Please note: Once deleted, a Noticeboard post cannot be recovered. Consider archiving a Noticeboard post rather than deleting it. 

To delete a Noticeboard post, click the caret on the post, then select Delete.

Screen_Shot_2021-11-08_at_9.33.01_AM.png

 

Considerations

The Noticeboard appears in the Key Records tab, which is part of the Overview at the top of the Client record page.

Please note: Customizations to the Client record page in Lightning App Builder will not affect the enablement process, provided the Key Records tab is still on the page, and still contains the Household Client Overview Page, Individual Client Overview Page and Organization Client Overview Page components.

Practifi Administrators have the ability to restrict which users can select the Critical alert level for Noticeboard posts. After all, critical posts can be a handy way to ensure that nobody misses something, but if overused, the associated toast notifications could lead to excessive clutter when opening client records.

A special permission set - Disable Critical Alert Level - can be applied to users and permission set groups depending on your firm's preferences. Once applied, users included in this permission set will either no longer see Critical as an option when setting alert levels, or will be blocked from saving posts with that level assigned, depending on context.

 

1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.